Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | January 13, 2008

The first week….

My first week of studying has passed and it has largely been a success.  I have had to extend my week one study target on by a day but the upcoming week’s worth of studying isn’t as crucial as knowing Spanning Tree Protocol at CCIE level so it is the logical thing to do.  I will more than likely keep amending my study plan but won’t get too obsessed with meeting dates because I have built-in a couple of two week periods in my study plan to catch up.  The most important thing is that I don’t move on because of a date, I have to move on when I have covered the subject to a CCIE level of understanding.

The subjects I am studying right now are from the first chapter of RSCG2 which is mainly just laying the foundations for everything else to follow, I’m mainly making bulletpoint notes and using tables to note down things I didn’t know and anything I NEED to know.

I’m really enjoying using the command memorozer tool – ‘hats-off’ to David Bombal , and I’ve not been ’stuck’ yet which is great.  I have quickly realised that RSCG2 simply doesn’t have enough content to get you through the CCIE R&S written exam so I have been using Cisco.com and Cisco Univercd extensively to find any ’nitty-gritty’ details.  I haven’t spent anywhere near enough time with the lab switches but I hope to spend at least an hour and a half with them on Monday night.

Leanne has been fantastic this week, we agreed on a daily routine but she has gone far beyond her ‘responsibilities’.  I’m not spending any less time with the little ones (which is great) so it’s really just Leanne that I need to make sure I don’t neglect.

Details of my first week:
FYI Study Hours = General Studies + Lab Time
Total Study Hours = 12.5
Total Lab Hours = 1.0 (not enough!)

What I have studied =
Ethernet Basics (Types and formats)
VLANs, VTP, and Trunking (VLAN Database, Extended VLANs, and ISL/802.1q)
Spanning-Tree Protocol (802.1d, PVST, Rapid-PVST, and MST)

Test scores =
Ethernet Basics = 7/8
Virtual LANs and VLAN Trunking = 9/9
+ Use of command memorizer

Useful URL’s =
3560 Configuration Guide
3550 Configuration Guide
Understanding VLAN Trunk Protocol (VTP)
Troubleshooting VLAN Trunk Protocol (VTP)
Spanning Tree
Understanding and Tuning Spanning Tree Protocol Timers
Spanning Tree Protocol Problems and Related Design Considerations
Understanding and Configuring Backbone Fast on Catalyst Switches
Rapid-PVST
MST

I will be uploading my notes per day and covering the technologies in depth in future posts, at the moment my notes aren’t in electronic format so I will be converting them as part of my learning (when I get a chance).

I will now try to update this blog every day…

Leave a Reply

Categories

