Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | January 15, 2008

Day 2 of Week 2

I have got some good lab time in this evening and have come across my first few stumbling blocks:

 1) I wasn’t able to configure and test private-vlans because I’m working on 2950’s which don’t support this feature (“Unimplemented Function: pm_platform_vlan_set_pvlan_type”)- I’ll have to come back to this.

2) I wasn’t able to capture 802.1Q tags using wireshark, I configured the native vlan to something other than VLAN1 so that I could see VLAN1 tags but they don’t appear!  After having a look around the web I have found out that it might be because of the network adapters I am using, I’m not going to spend anymore time on this although I hope I’m not doing anything stupid.

3) Another protocol/feature that the 2950’s don’t support – ISL, so I couldn’t capture the ISL header/trailer either.  I really need two 3560’s!

Although I have done some spanning-tree debugging I really need to come back to it in the future because my debugging was rather limited, I captured root elections and watched port states in PVST+ after changing port costs/priority’s but that certainly isn’t enough.

I will be uploading my notes in electronic format tomorrow – I’ve typed them up today and it really helped with spanning tree concepts.

Quick breakdown of today:
Study Hours = 8
Lab Hours = 1.5

What I have studied =
Ethernet Basics (Types and formats)
VLANs, VTP, and Trunking (VLAN Database, Extended VLANs, and ISL/802.1q)
Spanning-Tree Protocol (802.1d, PVST, Rapid-PVST, and MST)

Test scores =
Spanning Tree Protocol = 9/10 (actually 8/10 but one of the RSCG answers is obviously wrong – Rapid-PVST port states)
+ Use of command memorizer for all switching subjects

 I’m about a day behind my study plan target at the moment so hopefully the next chapter of RSCG2 won’t take longer than 10 hours to work through, here’s what I have completed:

  • Read RSCG2 Part 1 – Chapter 1 – Ethernet Basics
  • Find information from additional sources (and record useful information)
  • Make notes for ‘Ethernet Basics’
  • Read RSCG2 Part 1 – Chapter 2 – Virtual LANs and VLAN Trunking
  • Find information from additional sources (refer to exam blueprint)
  • Make notes for ‘Virtual LANs and VLAN Trunking’
  • Review ‘Ethernet Basics’
  • Self-test using RSCG2 test engine (revisit areas that require further learning)
  • Review ‘Virtual LANs and VLAN Trunking’
  • Use lab to cover ‘Virtual LANs and VLAN Trunking’ concepts
  • Use David Bombal’s ‘Command Memorizer’ tool to check that I can remember the correct commands
  • Self-test using RSCG2 test engine
  • Read RSCG2 Part 1 – Chapter 3 – Spanning Tree Protocol
  • Find information from additional sources
  • Make notes for ‘Spanning Tree Protocol’
  • Use lab to cover ‘Spanning Tree Protocol’ concepts (debug + packet capture)
  • Review ‘Spanning Tree Protocol’
  • Use ‘Command Memorizer’ tool
  • Self-test using RSCG2 test engine
  • Review all Part 1 subjects
  • Work through entire ‘Switching’ sheet of ‘Command Memorizer’ workbook
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

