Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | January 21, 2008

Week 2 summary

Here’s a quick week 2 breakdown:

I have continued to use CCIE Routing & Switching Certification Guide 2nd Edition (RSCG2) as my primary learning source although I am concerned about the level of in-depth information provided for many of the CCIE subject areas.  I have also come across one or two errors.  I am more than likely going to purchase Jeff Doyle’s ‘Routing TCP/IP’ series to find the more in depth information I need about the subjects I will studying during RSCG2 Part3.

Details of my second week:
Total Study Hours = 14
Total Lab Hours = 2

What I have studied:
IP Addressing (Binary level)
IP Services (ICMP, Gateway redundancy protocols, NTP…)
TCP/IP Transport and Application Services (TCP error recover and dynamic windowing, FTP, & SNMP)

Test scores:
IP Addressing = 7/8
IP Services = 6/8
TCP/IP Transport and Application Services = 6/8
+ Use of command memorizer

I am really looking forward to a much larger test database but I am going to hold off buying one until I have covered Part 3.

I’m about a half a day behind my study plan target as I need to spend some more time with HSRP/VRRP/GLBP and I also need some more ‘general’ lab time.  Here’s what I have this completed this week:

  • Read RSCG2 Part 2 – Chapter 4 – IP Addressing
  • Find information from additional sources
  • Make notes for ‘IP Addressing’
  • Work through self-created examples for ‘IP Addressing’
  • Review ‘IP Addressing’
  • Self-test using RSCG2 test engine
  • Read RSCG2 Part 2 – Chapter 5 – IP Services
  • Find information from additional sources
  • Make notes for ‘IP Services’
  • Use lab to cover ‘IP Services’ specifics
  • Review ‘IP Services’
  • Self-test using RSCG2 test engine
  • Read RSCG2 Part 2 – Chapter 6 – TCP/IP Transport and Application Services
  • Find information from additional sources
  • Make notes for ‘TCP/IP Transport and Application Services’
  • Use lab to cover ‘TCP/IP Transport and Application Services’ specifics
  • Review ‘TCP/IP Transport and Application Services’

Self-test using RSCG2 test engine

Leave a Reply

Categories

