Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | January 24, 2008

Day 4 of Week 3

A slight change of plan tonight…..

I was halfway through covering RIPv2 in depth and came across a number of features to study that are classified as ‘Protocol Independent Features’  I was aware of the fact that many Cisco routing features are transferable across the different routing protocols but hadn’t actually stopped to think what this can mean as far as my studies are concerned.  I have a good basic understanding of routing protocols and because of that I believe I should cover the protocol independent features first and then cover each routing protocol – this way I won’t be going over the same thing time and time again.  So that’s what I have done; I have spent 20 minutes this evening starting note taking on these features.  Readers please don’t worry I will make sure I highlight anything that doesn’t apply to every routing protocol J

Here is a link to the URL I will be basing my protocol independent studies on:

Configuring IP Routing Protocol-Independent Features
http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/software/ios122/122cgcr/fipr_c/ipcprt2/1cfindep.htm

And here is another URL that explains a protocol independent concept in a simpler way than the document above:

Configuring a Gateway of Last Resort Using IP Commands
http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/105/default.html

And here is an interesting ‘fact’:
If a static route points to an interface (as opposed to a next-hop IP) and it falls under a network statement of a routing process (RIP, EIGRP, OSPF….) it will still be redistributed into the routing protocol regardless of whether redistribute static is configured or not due to the fact that it classified as a connected route.  On the other hand, if the route doesn’t fall under a network statement it will be redistributed when redistribute static is configured (not redistribute connected?)
Well I tested this in Dynamips and it doesn’t seem to be happening when I do it!  The route did show up as ‘S  Connected’ but even with redistribute connected it didn’t show up in the neighbouring routers routing table – maybe I’m doing something wrong….. L

Tomorrow night I will be spending 10 minutes on setting up a terminal server within Dynamips, I have never used one and need to get used to using one, I will post the setup when I have verified it works…

Leave a Reply

Categories

