Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | February 22, 2008

Day 5 of Week 7

My apologies for the inactivity on this weblog over the last few days, my studies have took a real hit this week due to unforeseen events and other than some reading I haven’t managed to do anything practical like take notes or test concepts in a lab.  I’m a little frustrated about my lack of study time so far this week but obviously I will have to overcome many setbacks to reach my aim of becoming a CCIE over the upcoming months so I have simply picked up where I left things.

During the last few days I have been exploring the use of mind maps, if you have read my ‘Written Study Plan‘ you may have noticed that I have listed ‘Freemind‘ under the software area of the document.  Well, I hadn’t made use of it until today and here are the results to download:

IP Services mind map (not complete)
You will need to download and install Freemind to view the file as although an ‘export to html’ function is available the information is best viewed using the program.
I have had to upload the file with a .jpg extension because of the limitations of my wordpress account; please rename to .mm when saving (right click
à save target as)

The best thing about Freemind is that it’s completely free (maybe that’s where the ‘free’ came from!) but as usual many tools are available to do the same job…. One of these tools is completely web based and is called ‘Mindomo‘ (I found the link on Arden Packeer’s website ) – because it’s web based it is a lot easier to publish your mind map to the general public without needing a web server but obviously the disadvantage is ‘no internet connection = no mind map’ (+ limitations on free account).   That’s why I have opted to stick with Freemind. Tonight I have read the rest of Chapter 3 and then for Sunday + next week I will be spending the time making all the relevant notes and setting up labs for BGP.  I have to say before reading ‘Routing TCP/IP Volume 2’ I had a bit of a phobia of BGP but Jeff Doyle’s interpretation of BGP concepts is like a breath of fresh air, I’m no longer anxious about BGP and I am actually thinking “this isn’t overly complicated after all” – I’m now getting the feeling I shouldn’t have typed that ‘out loud’!

I have come across a command that I was very impressed with during my reading; firstly I will quickly describe the benefits of using a network statement to match an EBGP learned route which in turn causes the route to be ‘local’ à local BGP routes have an AD of 200 as opposed to an AD 0f 20 which would allow an EBGP learned route to take precedence over an IGP learned route à the IGP learned route may be required for a ‘backdoor’ which stops ‘external to AS’ traffic from using a link
Here are a few diagrams to explain what my words don’t (I’m no Jeff Doyle am I!):

bgp_network_backdoor1.png 

bgp_network_backdoor2.png 

bgp_network_backdoor3.png 

bgp_network_backdoor4.png 

The actual command I was very impressed with is the network command with the keyword backdoor added, the idea of using the network command for this purpose alone (without the backdoor) must have been thought of during a moment of genius level thinking.

Leave a Reply

Categories

