Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | April 7, 2008

Week 13 Summary

Week 13 has now passed and here is a summary of my activities over the last week:


Study time:

Study Hours = 17  inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 161  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 12

What I have studied this week:
QoS – Classification and Marking
QoS – Congestion Management and Avoidance
QoS – Shaping and Policing

Recent test scores:
23/28


I took an afternoon off work last week to try and hit my 2 weeks target for QoS; although I have probably learned enough to get me through the written exam I don’t think my notes are of a level to serve as the foundation I will need for my lab exam preparation (I feel this is the case for the other technologies I have covered so far).
Because of this, I will be spending a few more nights with QoS; tonight I will be typing-up my ‘Shaping and Policing’ notes (I’ve already done the other two chapters) and then I will spend ‘x’ nights reading and taking notes from configuration guides and ‘labbing’.
I am a firm believer that if a CCIE candidate’s written exam preparation is suitably in-depth enough and fully understood by the candidate his/her’s lab exam preparation should merely be about putting it all together
à for each time I learn some new theory during my upcoming lab preparations I will view that as a failure in my written exam preparations (and something to learn from for future CCIE’s à sssh, Leanne doesn’t know!).

During the previous week, I came across three more web pages that I found to be informative:
Cisco IOS Wide-Area Networking Configuration Guide
Frame Relay Traffic Shaping
Frame Relay IP RTP Priority

I also quickly created a 3560 egress queuing diagram last night, it can be found below:

Realistically, I think QoS will consume a total of about three weeks study time and because of this and the remaining technologies I need to look at I’m going to hold-off booking the 350-001 exam a little longer.  I feel I will be strong around WAN, Security, and Miscellaneous Networking so my time allocations for these three areas will more than likely turn out to be good estimates, but I’m not sure the same can be said for IP Multicast, IPv6, and MPLS….   Maybe I’ll build up the courage to commit to a date next week J

Responses

  1. Excellent blog, very useful diagrams that resume very well the technologies, it help understanding.


Leave a Reply

Categories

