Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | April 16, 2008

Week 14 Summary

I have reached the end of study Week 14 and here are the details of the week:


Study time:

Study Hours = 10  inc.
Lab Hours = 4

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 171  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 16

What I have studied this week:
QoS
WAN

Recent test scores:
36/40 = All subjects so far (I was bored)


I haven’t mentioned it on this blog but I have been struggling to motivate myself over the last couple of weeks, I got the same feeling I had when I was studying for the BSCI; days just merge into one continuous ‘Cisco Cisco Cisco’ ordeal and I start to lose sense of the basics of internetworking – over-thinking, forgetting basic theory, etc and how to function as a normal human being!  Well, I think I can say I have now reached the other side of the suffering, I can only compare it to when a runner finally stops feeling the pain of a stitch

J

The new InternetworkExpert Brainteaser was a welcome break to my main CCIE studies this week, I couldn’t resist the urge to spend an hour coming up with a few solutions to it (in my eyes this kind of thing is the fun part of the job), I’d love to share my solutions with everybody but with the closing date being the 30th April I’ll have to hold-off explaining them.  Another thing that gave me a welcome break was finishing off a ‘QoS – Classification and Marking’ video demonstration which can be viewed by clicking on the image below:

I enjoy creating video demonstrations but unfortunately time (the lack of it) is a problem – it’s probably the same problem for everybody reading this.

During the previous week, I came across many web pages that I found to be informative:
Internetworking Technology Handbook – Frame Relay
Wide-Area Networking Configuration Guide – Configuring Frame Relay
Dial Solutions Configuration Guide – Configuring Synchronous Serial Ports
Internetworking Technology Handbook – Point to Point Protocol (PPP)
PPP Over Frame Relay
Designing and Deploying Multilink PPP over Frame Relay and ATM
Multilink Via Virtual-Template on Two Serial Interfaces
Configuring Link Fragmentation and Interleaving for Frame Relay

I’m right on track to get WAN finished off by the end of the week so late June for the written exam is still looking like a possibility – I should really get it booked.

Responses

  1. That is always par for the course while studying for the CCIE. I lose mine probably ever 3-4 hours while studying 😀

  2. Hi Carl,

    I start hearing this faint “do you know what time it is?” when I reach the 3 hour mark – I can then use that as an excuse to myself to stop studying and not the fact that my mind is completely numb 🙂
    My wife has told me that she understands what goes into getting ready for the lab but I don’t think she really appreciates just how much, she thinks I put alot of time into it now!

    Good luck with your studies.

    Richard

  3. Hi Richard,
    The way you communicate and share your knowledge through this blog is a great way for you to learn. Because when you explain, you have to understand even more how things work.

    Regarding the wife, ask her to sit an exam to bring a fair load of work and participation in the income increase of your household, she will understand what it takes to pass some exams. My wife study for an exam as well (difficulty level between CCNP and CCIE in the Tax/Accounting field), and she understand very well the amount of time (and money) I spend into the studies.

    Some other people, even in the networking industry just think it’s question of cram sessions the week before the lab and off you go.

    Good luck with your studies.

  4. Hi Richard, I saw your blog and found it to be very resouces for a starter in IT like me. Kindly help me out. I am trying to set up a frame-relay cloud but running into trouble getting the pvc active. I wouldnt know if you could help? Here is a snapshot of my configuration a frame-relay switch & a spoke. Obviously i only need to replicate the same configuration on other router/spoke (mapping will be the only differences)

    R1# interface Serial0
    no ip address
    encapsulation frame-relay
    frame-relay interface-dlci 114

    FRSW# interface Serial2
    no ip address
    encapsulation frame-relay
    no ip route-cache
    no fair-queue
    clockrate 56000
    cdp enable
    no frame-relay inverse-arp
    frame-relay intf-type dce
    frame-relay route 114 interface Serial0 411

    Thanks.

  5. Hi Greg,

    Thanks for your comment.

    I have to tell you before I start that I would never describe myself as a frame relay switching expert (I’ve only worked on the CPE side of things). I have had a play in a lab in the past so I’ll try my best to help you.

    I am unable to see any obvious errors in the configuration you have posted, so the first thing I would ask is have you enabled frame relay switching on FRSW using the “frame-relay switching” command? It might seem simple but I’ve seen engineers run into problems by forgetting to enable “ip routing” in the past so forgive me if this is basic stuff.

    If that isn’t the problem, please post the output of the following commands on FRSW:
    “show interface serial 2”
    “show frame-relay route”
    “show frame-relay pvc”

    And on R1:
    “show interface serial 0”
    “show frame-relay pvc”

    I’ll try to help where I can.

    Richard

  6. Richard,

    You probably wont remember me as obviously you have been cloned. You seem to have a lot of new friends (remember don’t arrange to meet people from your Blog unless you let a responsible adult know where you are going) You have become a bit of a cult . I hope we don’t see that you have arranged a mass suicide in a few years. The only active PVC you had before was the pants you wore on the Christmas do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

