Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | May 27, 2008

Week 20 Summary

Week 20 à “and then there were two….”


Week’s Study Time:

Study Hours = 14.5  inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 246  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 18.5

What I have studied this week:
AAA
PPP Security
DAI
Private VLANs
Port Security
802.1x
DHCP Snooping
IP Source Guard
Storm Control
Protected Ports + Port Blocking
SNMP/Logging
Router Services
Reflexive ACLs
Time Based ACLs
Turbo ACLs
ACL Logging
Port ACLs
VLAN Maps
TCP Intercept
Reverse Path Forwarding
CBAC
Authentication Proxy
CLI Views
IPSec
RMON
DMVPN

Recent test scores:
25/30
12/15
3/3
9/9

 

 

Security is an area that I could spend a lot of time with but I’ve done well to control myself on this occasion and compact everything I need to know for CCIE R&S into one week.
I have come across many of the protocols/technologies available on IOS loaded devices in the past having took the time to read the 3550 + 3560 + 3750 configuration guides and thinking “that’s a great feature, let’s roll that out….” “that’s a great feature, let’s roll that out….” (I miss the days before my first major mess-up, and then of course the spread of the “change control” bug).  For example, I ‘broke’ a network configuring DAI, but because it was a Sunday and the offices weren’t open I had some time to play around with it – sometimes the best way to learn about something is to break it and then put it back together again….  It turned out that the DHCP snooping binding database wasn’t populated before DAI kicked-in
I’ve always made use of switch port macros and all of the edge port macros I have defined include configuration lines for port security, DHCP snooping, storm-control etc etc
ß much of the theory is still fresh in my mind.

This last week I’ve managed to get into the habit of waking-up at 5 or 6am and studying for an hour in the morning à I have been amazed how much I can take-in at such an early hour (for me) so I plan to continue to do it for the foreseeable future à “the early bird catches the worm”

Next-up is MPLS, and then lastly IPv6 before I start my prep specifically for the 350-001 exam à I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!
I can’t put it into words how much I can’t wait to swing my study time towards the practical side of things after spending so much time pretty-much exclusively with the theory
J

 

Responses

  1. “Testing” on LIVE Production Networks is not a good idea* 😉

    *In my opinion

  2. I totally agree, that was a long time ago – before I first got my fingers burnt…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

