Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | June 2, 2008

Week 21 Summary

Week 21 à “that wasn’t too bad!”


Week’s Study Time:

Study Hours = 12  inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 258  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 18.5

What I have studied this week:
MPLS

Recent test scores:
n/a

 

 

My initial hesitation when approaching MPLS turned-out to be an unfounded wariness.  I was initially intimidated by MPLS because I’ve only had dealings with the CE side of things and therefore I hadn’t ever peered inside the ‘cloud’.  It turns out that once you get ‘under-the-hood’ it really isn’t as complicated as it first appears! J  I remember the first time MPLS was explained to me and “OSPF or IS-IS here, BGP here, TDP or LDP here, provider to customer dynamic routing protocol here” caused me to fear ever having to deal with it outside of studying, but after the last couple of nights I’m now in a position to put some good notes together to return to in a few weeks.  I am currently putting together an MPLS VPN example featuring OSPF + LDP in the cloud, IBGP between the PE routers (the only option), and RIP, OSPF, EIGRP, BGP, and static’s between PE routers and CE routers for a couple of VPNs à a complicated diagram but one I think I need to create to understand the PE to CE configuration as well as I ought to.

I’ve got a around 12 hours to spend with MPLS now so I shouldn’t be ‘squeezing’ anything in to meet dates J

I find MPLS to be a very interesting area to study/lab but like ‘security’ I am aware that I shouldn’t spend too much time looking at it à MPLS features on the Written Exam Blueprint but not the Lab Blueprint L  Oh well, maybe I’ll find a few months to squeeze the Service Provider IE in at some point….

Lastly, I’d like to say a couple of congratulations:
– Good friends of mine, Edward and Becky have recently become parents for the second time à a big welcome to Megan!
– The second congratulations is to my colleague and pal Steve Pomfret who passed the 350-001 CCIE R&S Written Exam last Friday!

Responses

  1. Cheers Richard.

    I’m sure with the all the hard work which you are putting in you’ll have your’s soon.

    Then we can both bang our heads in unison at IE’s Lab brainteasers 😉

    Steve


Leave a Reply

Categories

