Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | June 17, 2008

Week 23 Summary

Week 23 à “The written home stretch is upon me….”


Week’s Study Time:

Study Hours = 9  inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 280  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 20.5

What I have studied this week:
IPv6 Addressing and Types
EIGRPv6
IPv6 Neighbor Discovery
OSPFv3
RIPng
IPv6 Tunneling

Recent test scores:
none


Well, last week was a very difficult week
à I struggled to motivate myself all week and quite frankly I think it was due to sheer boredom of studying network technologies night after night à I only have 3 weeks left until my written exam date but I’m seriously considering taking a few days off – it might be better for me in the long run….
This evening will be the last night I spend with IPv6; I will initially take a look at RIPng, review all of my IPv6 notes, and self-test
à after taking a look at the written exam blueprint I had noticed RIPng didn’t make an appearance and therefore omitted it from my studies, I realised today that it features on the lab blueprint!  Why-o-why can’t the blueprints just cover the same protocols/technologies!  I appreciate I don’t need to learn about RIPng for my 350-001 date but I want to keep my lab prep as hands-on as possible….
I have put together a time plan for the countdown to my written exam date which will be used to review each subject and self-test (working to the idea that I don’t take time off + taking some annual leave), it can be found below:

June 18th

Ethernet Basics

Spanning Tree Protocol

June 19th

VLANs and VLAN Trunking

Interface Bundling

June 20th

IP Addressing

IP Services

June 22nd

TCP/IP Transport and Application Services

IP Forwarding

June 23rd

RIPv2 + Protocol Independent Features

June 24th

EIGRP + Protocol Independent Features

June 25th

OSPF + Protocol Independent Features

June 26th

OSPF + Protocol Independent Features

June 27th

BGP + Protocol Independent Features

June 29th

BGP + Protocol Independent Features

June 30th

BGP + Protocol Independent Features

July 1st

QoS

July 2nd

QoS

July 4th

WAN

MPLS

July 5th

IP Multicast

July 6th

Security

IPv6

July 7th

Self-test on all subjects

 

Setting clear targets causes me to respond better when faced with a day/evening when I really can’t be bothered….

Lastly for today’s post – Here is a useful table I’ve added to my notes:

Common IPv6 into IPv4 tunnelling methods:

Tunnel Mode

Topology and Address Space

Applications

tunnel mode

Tunnel Destination Address

Automatic 6to4 Point-to-multipoint

2002::/16 addresses

Connecting isolated IPv6 networks ipv6ip 6to4 IPv4 address
Manually configured Point-to-point

Any address space

Requires dual-stack at both ends

IPv6 packets across IPv4 networks ipv6ip IPv4 address
IPv6 over IPv4 GRE Point-to-point

Unicast addresses;

Requires dual-stack at both ends

IPv6, CLNS, and other traffic across IPv4 networks gre ip Automatically determined
ISATAP Point-to-multipoint

Any multicast addresses

Connection of IPv6 hosts within a single site ipv6ip isatap Automatically determined
Automatic IPv4-compatible Point-to-multipoint

::/96 address space

Requires dual-stack at both ends

Deprecated – Use ISATAP tunnels instead ipv6ip auto-tunnel Automatically determined
Leave a Reply

Categories

