Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | June 24, 2008

Week 24 Summary

Week 24 à “It’s a relief that I no longer need to keep to the ridiculous schedule I had set for myself! à Fully-prepared in 17 days! à Who was I kidding?”


Week’s Study Time:

Study Hours = 11  inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 291  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 20.5

What I have studied this week:
Ethernet Basics
802.1d
PVST+
802.1w
802.1s
Spanning Tree Protocol Protection
VLANs
VTP
Trunks
Private VLANs
Interface Bundling
IP Addressing inc. NAT

Recent test scores:
Numerous Boson ExSim tests….


The ‘CCIE Quickfire’ workbook I have created is maturing nicely; I have been running through all of the questions at least twice a day over the last few days and it’s becoming a fantastic tool to aid my short and long term memory of all things routing and switching.  I have been using the 2 hours of study in the evening to review notes and then update the workbook with new questions for each technology I come up against, I am however going to need to re-arrange the workbook every now and again – knowing ‘Ethernet Basics’ inside-out obviously isn’t as important as knowing ‘BGP’ yet I’ll be answering the questions on it many more times the way the workbook is arranged at the moment…..
Here is a copy of the workbook as it is at now (right click – save target as), my colleague “SP” has been a great help to me over the last few days because he has also worked through a few questions and pointed out little bits of information I should add in.

I’ve spotted one or two excellent articles around the ‘blogosphere’ during the last week, here are some of them:
1) “U.U.U.U” à ever wondered what this means? à head-over to packetlife.net to find out
2) Tutorial: Filtering Routes in OSPF Part 1 » Filtering Within An Area by Arden Packeer
3)  CCIE Job Searching by Emmanuel Conde
4) A series of MPLS related articles by Human Modem

An announcement:
I will be moving onwards and upwards next month into a Systems Engineer role at Cisco! J  I am over-the-moon, it was a dream of mine when I focused on networking just 4 years ago that I didn’t think would ever materialize – and now it has!  I really can’t wait for the opportunity to work within such a dynamic and prestigious company. J
One of my first tasks within my new role will be a trip to San Jose – I have earmarked the evenings in the hotel as ‘intense-study’ evenings, hopefully that time will take me past the 350-001 ‘knowledge-line’ and get a base-level in place ready for lab prep.
I think you will now understand why my manager has asked me to postpone my 350-001 written exam for a few weeks.

Responses

  1. Congratulations on the the job at Cisco! That is one one of my dreams!

  2. “Congratulations” from me to you Richard now that it’s been “officially” announced. 😉

    Maybe our paths will cross again someday…..

    Later.

    Fred

  3. Congrats! Now it’s even more important for you to finish up!

  4. Thats awesome that you get to work at your dream job! Four years is not that long of a wait to achieve it really. I admire your dedication to see it through.

  5. Thanks very much for the nice comments 🙂

    Shifty –> I think the CCDP accreditation is an important certification to gain as far as Cisco are concerned, but I intend to carry on pursuing CCIE status alongside the CCDP

    Aragoen –> You’re right, four years isn’t long – my daughter is four and I can remember her arriving like it was yesterday – she is growing up way too fast!

    Thanks again

  6. Richardo

    Just been reading the blog. Congrats on the new post. I presume you and family have
    moved down south now.

    I knew you would go far in IT. But this is *censored* ridiculous. San Jose! *censored*!

    I went to California a few years back. It currently holds the no 1 spot on my
    “favourite places on earth” list.

    Whats your new email address.

    Ed


Leave a Reply

Categories

