Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | July 16, 2008

Week 27 Summary

Week 27 à “How have I managed to create >400 questions for a routing protocol I have seen described as “SIMPLE” in the past!?”


Week’s Study Time:

Study Hours = 14 inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 321  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 20.5

What I have studied during the last 2 weeks:
RIPv2
EIGRP
OSPF

Recent test scores:
Numerous Boson ExSim tests….


I’ve made some big strides towards getting my workbook to a point where I can use it as a ‘learning-tool’.  OSPF is now finished
à just 400+ questions later!  A small number of the questions are simply statements copied from my notes and “is” has been changed to the option “{is | is not”} à they won’t ever be challenging questions but they will make sure I think about the specific point.  I’m planning to work through BGP over the next few nights, and then take the time to work through the workbook time-after-time….  I think it’s important I pause after the core switching and routing questions I have put-together to make sure I know the theory inside out (especially for my upcoming written exam).

 

Here are some great links I have come-across within the Cisco ‘blogosphere’:
1) Notes from the Routing TCP/IP books taken by a very talented individual that goes by the name of Stretch (@ Packetlife)
2) Another one from Packetlife
àVisualizing Tunnels
3) Ever heard “We’d better hard-code speed and duplex”
à Greg Ferro @ EtherealMind has sparked a debate following his article….
4) A new venture by Arden Packeer to serve the CCIE online community
à CCIE Magazine
5) Internetwork Expert’s NEW Online Community
6) A new feature introduced in 12.4(20)T explained here
à IOS Packet Capture!

 

If I can find the time, I plan to put-together a “Route Filtering Options” diagram for all of the routing protocols on the R&S blueprint(s) during the next couple of weeks.  The idea being that it will complement the “Summarisation” and “Default Routes” diagrams I have previously posted.

 

Here are a few sample questions from my workbook, why not test yourself?

1) On a NBMA network, if the neighbour State is “Down”, the hello interval is the same as the {“name”}
1a) What is the default value of the ‘interval’ above?

2a) MTU mismatch (router to switch) à Configuration option 1 (on the switch)
2b) MTU mismatch (router to switch)
à Configuration option 2 (on the switch)
2c) MTU mismatch (router to switch)
à Configuration option 3

3a) Which neighbor keywords can be used to stop LSAs from being sent out of a point-to-multipoint interface yet still allow adjacencies to form on it?
3b) Which interface-level command can be used to stop LSAs from being sent out of all other interface types yet still allow adjacencies to form?

4a) Secondary IP network advertisement {does | does not} rely on the advertisement of an interface’s primary IP network
4b) Adjacencies {can | cannot} be formed over/using secondary IP networks (addresses)

Scroll down for my answers (correct or not)……..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ANSWERS:
1) PollInterval
1a) 120 seconds

2a) system mtu 1500
2b) system mtu routing 1504
2c) ip ospf mtu-ignore

3a) database-filter all out
3b) ip ospf database-filter all out

4a) does
4b) cannot

Leave a Reply

Categories

