Posted by: Richard @ Configureterminal.com | July 22, 2008

Week 28 Summary

Week 28 à “An exciting future for me and my family lies ahead”


Week’s Study Time:

Study Hours = 8 inc.
Lab Hours = 0

Total study time so far:
Total Study Hours = 329  inc.
Total Lab Hours = 20.5

What I have studied during the last 2 weeks:
EIGRP
OSPF

Recent test scores:
Boson ExSim tests…

 

I’ve completed my second day at Cisco today, and I’ve been incredibly impressed with how streamlined everything is here!  Everything is in place just to let you get on with what you are employed to do – no distractions, and they really look after you 🙂

Everybody I have come into contact with so-far has been very pleasant and has gone out of their way to help me, glancing around the canteen/restaurant during lunch makes me realise I’m in the company of some of the sharpest minds in the industry – quite intimidating (I’ve been told that is a normal feeling to have – especially with the surroundings @ Bedfont Lakes).

 

I had this idea in my head at the beginning of this week (29) that I would be able to continue studying during my first few days at Cisco – how wrong was I!  You wouldn’t believe how many systems I need to get setup on, not to mention the amount of “New-Hire” and “SE” information I need to read through, unfortunately, studying is going to have to take a back-seat for a little while.  Starting a new job and CCIE level studying just don’t go-together 😦

Realistically, I think I should be aiming to pick-up where I left things next week, and that may possibly cause me to take a look at my written exam date again….
(Although, I will have to ask myself how many times I will allow myself to put the date back? – once so far)

 

Here are a couple of great links thatI have come-across within the Cisco ‘blogosphere’ over the last few days:
1) EBGP Load Sharing @ the NIL Wiki
2) Integrated Routing and Bridging Example @ Cisco Network Engineer

 

And, here are a few sample questions from my workbook, why not test yourself?
I’ll give you an idea of what is being covered by these questions –> 1) = Process Switching…

1) Router Switching Path/Method Option 1
1a) The {“item”} computes the CRC

2) Router Switching Path/Method Option 2
2a) The {“item”} computes the CRC (except the first packet)
2b) Entries are added to the {“item”}
2c) What form of load balancing is the only one supported?
2d) Which command enables this switching method on an interface?

3) Router Switching Path/Method Option 3
3a) Creates a copy of the routing table called the {“name”}
3b)  What is the arrangement of the table above called?
3c) Pointers to the {“item”} are added to the table above
3ca) Entry type 1 in this table
3cb) Entry type 2 in this table
3cc) Entry type 3 in this table
3cd) Entry type 4 in this table
3ce) Entry type 5 in this table
3cf) Unknown information entry description in this table
3d) Both tables reside on the route processor (RP) and are stored in {“location”}
3e) What is the command to enable this switching method globally?
3f) What is the command to enable this switching method on an interface?
3g) What is the default load balancing method for this switching method?
3h) If configured on an inbound int, the packet {will | will not} always be switched in the same way on the outbound int

Scroll down for my answers (correct or not)……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ANSWERS:
1) Process Switching
1a) Route Processor

2a) Interface Processor
2b) Route Cache
2c) Per-Destination
2d) ip route-cache

3) CEF
3a) FIB
3b) mtrie
3c) Adjacency Table
3ca) Null
3cb) Glean
3cc) Punt
3cd) Discard
3ce) Drop
3cf) Unresolved
3d) DRAM
3e) ip cef
3f) ip route-cache cef
3g) Per-Destination
3h) will

 

I’m going to apologise in advance –> expect to hear even less from me over next couple/few weeks (nothing out of the ordinary their then!)


Responses

  1. Welcome back Richard your blog had not been updated for at least 5 days, I was getting withdrawal symptoms. Also well done on the job at Cisco did you move down to the big smoke then as I always thought you were based up North?

  2. Thanks very much

    No move to the big smoke just yet, I was asked to come-down and meet a few people at Bedfont Lakes as part of my induction, I like the ‘sea air’ (English Dad’s lingo – commonly used phrase 41) where I live 🙂

    Good luck with your journey Cisco Ferret -> you’ll have to tell us all what you would like to be known as? Great name by the way 🙂

  3. Hi Richard,

    I did not know Cisco had a cage up North for Northern Monkey’s 🙂 Only joking. Anyhow I think you are much better off staying away from the big smoke if you have a family nice to visit but I would not be keen on being there permanently.

    Ferret is fine as a name. I will be tapping you up for some tips on blogging and especially note taking. Not sure where you get the time but your notes are amazing and although I have got by before with without notes I think the CCIE might be a step to far without me learning how to produce decent notes.

  4. Yes, we have a “satellite office” in Didsbury (Manchester), it’s nice and quiet here 🙂

    Not a problem, drop me a message anytime, and thanks for the feedback. I’ve found that the CCIE demands that you not only take notes, but then you need to eat the paper they are written on just to make sure it’s ALL ‘in-there’! 🙂

  5. hai richard its good to be at your site … iam a ccnp candidate .. i was going through the bsci section and found about load balancing …

    i set up a network in gns3 and tested loadbalancing with bandwidth and variance command

    what exactly is the difference between those two ? both are used for load balancing right..

    when we execute bandwidth command it changes bandwith to our specified value…

    when we excute a command say vairance 2
    what happens inside the router? what factors does variace depends upon … does it depend upon k values or any other more factors

    regards
    rakesh..

  6. Hi Rakesh,

    It’s nice that you find the site useful.

    I’ll get to work on an explanation and post it on here.

    Richard


Leave a comment

Categories